# LHS wrestling hands out postseason honors



Brenton Wrigley shakes hands with head coach Bobby Bovaird upon receiving the Wrestler of the Year award Tuesday during the team's postseason banquet at Louisburg High School.

Their season might have ended on the state wrestling mats in Salina, but members of the Louisburg wrestling team got a chance to reflect on what was a positive season for the Wildcats.

During Tuesday's end of the season banquet, coach Bobby Bovaird talked about a season in which the Wildcats ended a two-year drought and qualified five for the state tournament. Brenton Wrigley, Anders Vance, Mason Koechner, Ryan Adams and Nathan Keegan all made their first trip to state.

The Wildcats also had four wrestlers who had won at least 30 matches and six program records fell. As a team, Louisburg finished in the top three at five tournaments and had a 12-5 dual record.

"The last few years have been humbling," Bovaird said during the banquet. "But I knew that with patience, dedication and hard work we would be able to bring Louisburg back to the point where we are a competitive program. And here we are."



The Louisburg High School wrestling team gathers together for one final picture after their postseason banquet Tuesday.

Two Wildcats also were recognized for their work in the classroom. Seniors Wrigley and Zach Knox were each awarded honorable mention Academic All-State by the Kansas Wrestling Coaches Association.

Wrigley, who finished with a 35-9 record and a state qualifying bid at 195 pounds, took the highest honor as he was named Louisburg's Wrestler of the Year. The coaches also gave out 22 letters and several other honors.

The awards given out are:

# **Varsity letterwinners**

Seniors: Zach Knox, Nephi Rodriguez, Billy Rose and Brenton Wrigley

Juniors: Jordan Crowder, Jimmy Dolan, Zach Jones, Dillin Roberts, Bradley Trageser, Chris Turner and Anders Vance

Sophomores: David Bindi, Connor Green, Ben Hupp, Nathan Keegan, Mason Koechner, Dylan Meyer and Lyndon Smith Freshman: Ryan Adams, Kyle Allen, Tucker Batten and Thad

Hendrix

### Team awards

Wrestler of the Year: Brenton Wrigley

Wildcat of the Year: Nathan Keegan

Workhorse Award: Anders Vance

Newcomer of the Year: Ryan Adams

JV Wrestler of the Year: Bradley Trageser

Highest team GPA: Austin Raetzel

### 30-match winners

Nathan Keegan (30-19), Ryan Adams (37-12), Brenton Wrigley (35-9) and Mason Koechner (39-14)

## **Records**

Zach Knox: Career Nearfall-2 (28); Career Reversals (38); Career Escapes (77)

Ryan Adams: Season Nearfall-2 (19); Season Reversals (25)

Mason Koechner: Season Pins (33)

# **Tri-County Spotlight**

First team: Nathan Keegan (113 pounds); Ryan Adams (138); Mason Koechner (220); Anders Vance (285)

Second team: Brenton Wrigley (195)

Honorable mention: Zach Knox (132)