Koechner a semifinalist for Bobby Bell Award



Louisburg High School senior Mason Koechner was recently named a semifinalist for the Bobby Bell Award, which is for the Kansas City area's best small class lineman or linebacker.

Semifinalists for the Thomas A. Simone football awards were recently announced and a Louisburg High School student found his way onto one of the lists.

Senior Mason Koechner was named a semifinalist for the Bobby Bell Award, which is given to the most outstanding small class lineman or linebacker. The four finalists for each award will be announced on Nov. 28 at the Kansas City Chiefs Hall of Honor at Arrowhead Stadium.

The awards are for the top football players in the Kansas City area.

Koechner anchored the Wildcat defense with his play on the line. He led Louisburg with 67 tackles on the season to go along with two sacks and two tackles for a loss.

The winners will be unveiled Dec. 6 at the school of the Simone Award recipient — which is the best high school football player in the Kansas City area. Players from both sides of the state line are nominated for the award.

Louisburg is no stranger to these awards as 2011 LHS

graduate Tyler Ewy won the Bobby Bell Award in 2010 after helping the Wildcats to their first state title.

Here are a list of all the awards and the semifinalists:

Bobby Bell Award (most outstanding small class lineman or linebacker): Diaz Elliott, Richmond; Colin Grunhard, Bishop Miege; Mason Koechner, Louisburg; Derek Kohler, Platte County; Ethan Luft, Kearney; Marquae Richardson, Center; John Taylor, Center; Kole Wagener, Grain Valley; Joe Watskey, Bishop Miege; TJ Williams, Basehor-Linwood.

Thomas A. Simone Award (most outstanding player): Jafar Armstrong, Bishop Miege; James Bailey, William Chrisman; Matt Dercher, Blue Valley; Mario Goodrich, Lee's Summit West; Chester Graves, Park Hill; Dalton Hill, Lee's Summit; Robert Rawie, Liberty; Julian Ross, Staley; Cornelius Ruff, Schlagle; Will Schneider, Shawnee Mission North.

Frank Fontana Award (most outstanding small-class player): Trevon Alexander, Richmond; JJ Letcher, Piper; Justin Mitchell, Platte County; Justin Phillips, Basehor-Linwood; Anthony Pritzel, Kearney; Carter Putz, Bishop Miege; Amaun Ryan, Center; Mason Smith, Odessa; Landry Weber, Bishop Miege; Rachaad White, Center.

Buck Buchanan Award (most outstanding lineman or linebacker): Daniel Carson, William Chrisman; Jay Dineen, Lawrence Free State; Chester Graves, Park Hill; Kirrian Kirby, Blue Valley; Peter Klug, Blue Valley North; Michael Maffry, Blue Valley; Daniel Parker, Blue Springs; Anthony Payne, Raymore-Peculiar; Eli Ross, Staley; Seven Wilson, Park Hill.

Otis Taylor Award (most outstanding wide receiver or tight end): Jafar Armstrong, Bishop Miege; Somaj Brewer, Lee's Summit; Cristian Cox, Center; Da'Ron Davis, Lee's Summit North; Jess Davis, Kearney; Jordan Martin, Turner; Zack Sanders, Lawrence Free State; Nick Snider, Belton; Trevor Thompson, Shawnee Mission East; Harrison Van Dyne, Blue

Valley.