Louisburg Sports Zone
Don't Miss

Battle, Moore named as Simone Awards finalist

Andy Brown / Louisburg Sports Zone

Louisburg’s Declan Battle (left) and Ashton Moore were named as finalists for two different Simone Awards on Sunday. Battle is up for the Frank Fontana Award and Moore made the final four for the Bobby Bell Award.

A pair of Louisburg football players were recognized among the best in the Kansas City area Sunday evening when the finalists for the 41st Annual Simone Awards were released.

The Simone Awards, which gives out five different honors to showcase the best players in the area, announced two Wildcats as finalists for two different awards. 

Senior Declan Battle was announced as a finalist for the Frank Fontana Award, while junior Ashton Moore was named to the final four for the Bobby Bell Award.

The Frank Fontana Award is given annually to the best all-around small school player in Class 1-4 on the Missouri and Kansas sides of the Metro. Battle, who led the Wildcat offense as a first team All-Frontier League player at quarterback, had a big season for Louisburg.

In 10 games for the Wildcats, Battle completed 105 passes for 1,364 yards and had 16 touchdowns to just two interceptions. He also did a lot of damage on the ground with 1,009 yards rushing and 16 more touchdowns.

As a defensive back, Battle finished with 36 tackles and also had an interception for a touchdown.

Prime Accounting

St. Pius X sophomore quarterback Hudson Bailey, Kearney senior running back Cameron Emmons and Warrensburg junior quarterback Kobe Westphal are the other three finalists.

The Bobby Bell award is given annually to the best Class 1-4 offensive lineman/defensive lineman or linebacker.

Moore was one of the leaders of the Wildcat defense this past season. As a first-team All-Frontier League player on both sides of the ball, Moore posted a team-high 125 tackles, including eight for a loss. Moore had four forced fumbles and two sacks.

As a running back, Moore carried the ball 151 times for 1,110 yards and had 15 touchdowns. He also finished with 292 yards receiving and three more scores.

Pleasant Hill senior linebacker Brayden Bush, Grandview senior lineman Derek Joiner and St. Thomas Aquinas senior defensive tackle Kian Payne are the other three finalists.

The Bobby Bell Award winner will be announced tonight on the 6 p.m. sports cast on Channel 41 News, while the Frank Fontana Award recipient will be announced on the 6 p.m. sportscast on Wednesday.